April 2016: Most Anticipated Releases

Another month means more books to read. Not to play favourites but this month, all I care about is the release of The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows. I’ve waited 365 days for this release. If you think book hangovers can’t last for a year, you are wrong. They can and it’s painful. I need the ending to this duology now or I will never be the same again. I still need a little rant for my top release so I’ll shut my mouth and let’s jump right to it!


 

5.

last boy and girlThe Last Boy and Girl in the World
By Siobhan Vivian

RELEASE DATE: APRIL 26TH

What if your town was sliding underwater and everyone was ordered to pack up and leave? How would you and your friends spend your last days together?

While the adults plan for the future, box up their possessions, and find new places to live, Keeley Hewitt and her friends decide to go out with a bang. There are parties in abandoned houses. Canoe races down Main Street. The goal is to make the most of every minute they still have together.

And for Keeley, that means taking one last shot at the boy she’s loved forever.

There’s a weird sort of bravery that comes from knowing there’s nothing left to lose. You might do things you normally wouldn’t. Or say things you shouldn’t. The reward almost always outweighs the risk.

Almost.

It’s the end of Aberdeen, but the beginning of Keeley’s first love story. It just might not turn out the way she thought. Because it’s not always clear what’s worth fighting for and what you should let become a memory.

Siobhan Vivian is a writer that always attracts my interest. She has a natural gift with words and I will never forget her first novel, The List. When researching for April Releases I saw this and it seems like a sweet story. Will I make this a priority to read? Nah. But if I feel like a nice coming of age novel, I will pick this up. This novel is only on my list because the blurb spoke to me about bravery and decisions, which I think is very true.

4.

glittering courtThe Glittering Court
By Richelle Mead

RELEASE DATE: APRIL 5TH

For a select group of girls, the Glittering Court offers a shot at a life they’ve only ever dreamed of, one of luxury, glamour, and leisure. To high-born Adelaide, whose wealthy family is forcing her into a loveless marriage, the Glittering Court represents something else: the chance to chart her own destiny, and adventure in an unspoiled, prosperous new land across the sea.

After a chance meeting with the dazzling Cedric Thorn, Adelaide poses as a servant to join the crop of impoverished girls he promises to transform into proper ladies. But her familiarity with upper class life comes with a price: she must hide her identity from her new friends, mysterious refugee Mira and fiery former laundress Tamsin, and most importantly, from Cedric himself—even though she’s falling in love with him.

Everything begins to crumble when Cedric discovers Adelaide’s ruse, and she catches the eye of a powerful young governor, who wants her for a wife. She didn’t leave the gilded cage of her old life behind just to become someone else’s property. But nothing is as daunting—or as wonderful—as the potent, forbidden attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. One that, if acted on, would make them both outcasts in a wild, dangerous, uncharted world, and possibly lead them to their deaths.

Richelle Mead. How are you doing? Since the Vampire Academy series I have not caught up with what Mead has been writing lately. I’m aware she released another novel, The Sound and I felt no desire to read it. The Glittering Court sounds like a very interesting read. I do think it sounds a lot of other YA novels about a group of girls who are treated unequally but I’m entranced by the possibility of the romance in this novel. Not only, I like protagonists who pretend to be someone else. It’s all very mysterious and I’m feeling mysterious this month.

3.

wrath and dawnThe Wrath and The Dawn
By Renee Abdiah

RELEASE DATE: MAY 12TH, 2015

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

As you can already tell, this book is not being released in April. Released last year, the second book, The Rose & the Daggar, is being released this April and seeing that I can’t read the second book before the first, I put the first book in this list instead. Based on the summary, The Wrath & the Dawn has a dark, evil feel to it and I’m excited to dig my teeth into this very soon. Maybe I’ll be able to read the second book in time of its release?

2.

natural history of usThe Natural History of Us
By Rachel Harris

RELEASE DATE: APRIL 5TH, 2016

 

One class assignment. One second chance at love. The school player is all in. Now he needs to win back the sweet commitment girl who’s forever owned his heart.

Justin Carter has a secret. He’s not the total player Fairfield Academy believes him to be. Not really. In fact, he used to be a one-woman guy…and his feelings for her never went away. Too bad he broke her heart three years ago and made sure to ruin any chance she’d ever forgive him.

Peyton Williams is a liar. She pretends to be whole, counting down the days until graduation and helping her parents at the family ranch. But the truth is, she’s done everything she can to get over Justin, and salvation is just around the corner. With graduation one short month away, she’ll soon break free from the painful memories and start her life fresh. Of course, she has to get through working with him on one last assignment first.

For Justin, nothing ever felt as right as being with Peyton, and now that fate’s given him a shot at redemption, he’s determined to make the most of it. And for Peyton…well, Justin Carter has always been her kryptonite.

I didn’t even know The Fine Art of Pretending would have a sequel!!! And it’s about Justin!!! I adored The Fine Art of  Pretending! It’s an awesome story about best friends falling in love and it gives me all these happy feelings. I don’t think Harris will be able to beat Fine Art but I’m willing to try this sequel out. If her writing transfers to this book, The Natural History of Us  will definitely be enjoyable.

1.

mirror kingThe Mirror King
By Jodi Meadows

RELEASE DATE: APRIL 5TH, 2016

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

IT’S HERE. IT’S HERE. IT’S HERE. I’ll finally be able to get answer and hopefully my broken heart will be mended and swell for Wil and Black Knife!! It’s so close. I’m so close to the ending. That also means I’m going to extremely book hungover once I’m done. Thank god, the author wrote novellas in Tobiah’s POV or I wouldn’t be able to last the 365 days of waiting for this dang book to come out! I’m rambling. I get like that when I’m too excited. IT’S FINALLY HERE!!!!!!


 

And that’s my Top 5/TBR April Releases! I love the butterflies when anticipated books are being released soon! It’s also very emotional! 😛 Until next month!

Keep calm and read on,

smallerblogsign2

2 thoughts on “April 2016: Most Anticipated Releases

  1. I hope you enjoy TWATD! The Rose and The Dagger is my MOST anticipated release of the year, perhaps, and I’ve been here and there recommending TWATD to everyone, haha. It’s just the right combination of romance, intrigue and fantasy for me — but try to go in without toooo high of expectations; that tends to ruin any book for me. 😛

    Like

    • I know what you mean when it comes to going in with high expectations XD. It’s absolutely disappointing, but you can’t help it! 😛 However, I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on TWATD, it sounds so good and sounds exactly like my cup of tea. Your comment is probably going to boost this novel up my TBR list so thank you! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts with me!

