DNF: Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow

SA_REVISED.inddStrange Angels
By Lili St. Crow

Paperback, 293 pages
Published May 14th 2009 by Razorbill
Average Rating: 3.79

In Strange Angels, Dru Anderson has what her grandmother called “the touch.” (Comes in handy when you’re traveling from town to town with your dad, hunting ghosts, suckers, wulfen, and the occasional zombie.) Then her dad turns up dead—but still walking—and Dru knows she’s next. Even worse, she’s got two guys hungry for her affections, and they’re not about to let the fiercely independent Dru go it alone. Will Dru discover just how special she really is before coming face-to-fang with whatever—or whoever— is hunting her?


DNF

God, I couldn’t finish this book no matter how much I tried to tell myself to push through. I get I’m going to read books I won’t like but Strange Angels is a book I just couldn’t finish!!

I can’t even properly review this book because I haven’t finished it!! And all I can do is judge this novel from the (very) few chapters I’ve read.

I tried reading this book at least 3 times before. First time I made it through two chapters. The following, three and a half. Last summer, I was going to give it one more chance and I made it farther than I ever had before!! A whooping seven chapters! *pats myself on the back*

In the beginning, I thought the summary was pretty interesting. The character’s father dies and what’s better than following in your dead parent’s footsteps? It showed promise of internal conflict and lots of character development.

I was also reading other books while reading this as well. I’m pretty good with getting back to books I’ve started and finishing them but it ended up being days then weeks where I didn’t touch the book. Thank god I borrowed this from the library! (Check out my post about the pros and cons of buying and borrowing books!)

In the end, I wasn’t interested enough in the story, the plot, the characters or the writing to continue where I left off. From what I was reading, everything I mentioned before seemed unlikely to happen.

The thing that really convinced me to try reading Strange Angels again was that Richelle Mead, the author of Vampire Academy recommended this book in her books and she also helped in the publication of Lili St. Crow’s series. You see, Richelle Mead is one of my favourite authors. I love her Vampire Academy series and if she thought this book was good, I was going to give it a try! (Read Shayla’s review on the first book, Vampire Academy here.)

UGH. NOTE TO SELF: If your favourite author likes a book, it doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll like it too.

AND I DON’T LIKE THIS BOOK AT ALL. First, it’s about zombies. I’m not a fan of zombies but I was willing to overlook that part of the book when I decided to pick it up again. It wasn’t even the zombies that made me drop the book!! I actually thought the zombies were kinda cool and a great antagonist for the story. Also, heroine gets to kill loads of zombies? Sounds like my cup of tea!! (Do you realize how innocent that sounds? But nope! It’s like ZOOOMBIIIES.) What made me DNF this book? The damn writing. Which pretty much sucks because what kind of book is crappy writing?!

Strange Angels was written so poorly!! It didn’t suck me in; it was bland and the main character was so boring. It was pretty dope that she can kill zombies and that she’s a fighter but that was pretty much where anything interesting ended. I found her rather stupid, childish and the personality vibe I was getting wasn’t doing it for me. It’s very hard to continue reading when you don’t like the protagonist and it’s even harder when the writing sucks.

Bottom line is, I’m not going to say everyone is going to have the same opinion as me. This book got a 3.79 rating after all. It might be good. Who knows, maybe I”m missing out. If people want to try reading this, by all means, go right ahead. If you like it, cool. I know I don’t. I tried to read it (I think three attempts counts for something right?) but I think it’s time that I put this book to rest.

Let me know in the comments if you read this series. Yay or nay? Does it get better in the second book? Was I too quick to judge or do we have any agreers? (Yup, that’s a word too.)

Keep calm and read on,

smallerblogsign2

goodreads / twitter / tumblr / pinterest / instagram / bloglovin’

 

4 thoughts on “DNF: Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow

  1. Ahh, I’ve seen this book around, but I’ve never really felt the need to pick it up. The synopsis has a blatant love triangle in it, and that’s not something I like reading about anymore. I also love Richelle Mead, so it’s disappointing to know that this book is DNF-worthy even though she recommended it. Great review! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! 🙂 I was so disappointed that this horrible book wasn’t as good as I hoped it was or as good as Richelle Mead said it was. Very. It’s the worst. That synopsis hinting at the love triangle also made me hesitant in picking this book. I’m so glad I abandoned it before anything significant happened with that. Love triangles are SO OVERRATED.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts with me!

