Top 10 First Kiss Scenes in Books (Part 2)

So you guys might be wondering why the title of this post is “Part 2”. Wellll, on my group blog, I actually wrote one of these posts and it’s doing very well over there, so I’ve decided to update it with some of my 2016 books! But before you continue make sure to check out the Part 1 of this series to get 10 more swoonworthy first kiss scenes! 😉

Here they are in no particular order, buuut I did save the best near the end. *winks*

Disclaimer: All rights go to authors mentioned and their releasing company. No copyright intended. 


The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows: Wil and Black Knife

18081228Now this kiss was hot for reasons because these characters don’t even get to see each other. Black Knife has a silk mask on, and their real identities are hidden from each other, because yes, this is a forbidden romance kiss!! The angst leading up to it was heeeavy, all the more so because there are some secrets and spoilers that I can’t say!! *evil grin*

“I cupped my free hand over his cheek, letting the cool silk slide beneath my fingers; his face was sharp and angular, and his jaw tensed, as though he was worried I’d lift the mask. But I left it as I rose to my toes and pressed my mouth against his, only that thin silk between our lips.

He gasped and pulled back. ‘I don’t -‘

Shame welled up inside me. ‘You’re right. I shouldn’t have. I’m sorry.'”

Legend by Marie Lu: Day and June

9275658

Not read or released in 2016, but a GREAT YA throwback: Day and June. Another forbidden kiss among two enemies that fall in love. (I’m seeing a theme here guys XD ) This was a very sweet kiss. Literally.

“I taste the wine on his lips. He kisses me gently at first and then, as if he’s reaching for something more, he pushes me against the wall and kisses me harder. His lips are warm and so soft-his hair brushes against my face. I try to focus.”

 

November 9 by Colleen Hoover: Ben and Fallon

november9

Same name. Totally different feel. Colleen Hoover is magic at writing first kiss scenes. She brings the definition of meaningful and mindblowing to a whole new level of emotions and instability.

” ‘It might not be book-worthy, but it’ll have to do.’ He takes two quick steps toward me until his hands are in my hair and his mouth is on mine. I gasp in surprise and grab his shoulders, but I immediately fall into step with him and slide his hands to his neck.”

“His mouth, coupled with the way his hand is sliding down my arm, is all too much. So much. Good much. So good. I just whimpered. As soon as the sound leaves my mouth, he’s pressing me harder against the wall. His left hand is caressing my cheek and his right hand is gripping me by the waist, pulling me against him. I’m finished packing. He doesn’t have to leave right this minute. Does he? He really doesn’t. Sex releases endorphins and endorphins keep people awake, so having sex with Ben might actually benefit me before my flight…I’m crazy. I can’t have sex with him.”

How can someone make a kiss so hot and sexy yet comedic at the same time?!

The Cage by Megan Shepherd: Cassian and Cora

16071187

Reading this novel, I was waiting and waiting for this kiss to happen and when it finally happened I was so freaking elated!! This kiss is between the prisoner and the captor. Cora and Cassian. And both never saw it coming. *sigh* Without context, this excerpt doesn’t even do it justice.

“His chin started to tilt towards hers. His lips parted. ‘I want to know what it feels like,’ he whispered. My god. He was going to kiss her, and it was so wrong, and so was how badly she wanted him to…She kissed him back, showing how a kiss was meant to be, though she hardly knew either. He learned fast. His people might not kiss, but she could tell by his heart thumping under her that he enjoyed it, that he responded to it the same way humans did.”

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers: Ismae and Gideon

grave mercy

THIS KISS WAS THE BEST KISS EVER!!!! THE SET UP WAS GREAT. EVERYTHING LEADING UP TO IT WAS ANGSTY AND WORTH THE WAIT. Duval was swoonworthy and Ismae was finally letting her guard down. AND THESE TWO CHARACTERS HATED EACH OTHER. You know how much I love the haters-to-lovers love story 😉 *swoon* I LOVED THIS KISS!! ❤

“I move my lips against his, wanting more, but more of what, I cannot say. He steps closer, until our bodies touch, then his other hand comes up, the warm fingers grasping my waist, pulling me even closer still. I am lost in his kiss, and all my defenses give way before this hot, hungry mystery that lies between us. And then he pulls away, slowly, as if loath to do so. That is when I hear the rap at the door.”

The writing was beautiful and that dreaded interruption was not appreciated and it was so angsty I loved it!! The transformation from animosity to romance was breath-taking.

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne: Ben and Parker

23636581

Ben and Parker’s first kiss is because of a dare. Of a bet. And let me tell you, it is hot, hot, hot. These two best friends show us the alternate reality of what it’s like falling in love with your best friend and how unexpecting it can be to realize that the One has been right in front of you all along. I really enjoyed this best friends-to-lovers contemporary novel.

“I lift her hands above her head, pining her arms to the wall. I have the briefest moment of satisfaction at the pure shock and lust on her face, before my body presses against her soft curves, before my mouth claims her. And this time I kiss her for real.

 Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare: Emma and Julian

lady midnight

Parabatai kiss!! Parabatai kiss!! I can’t handle how forbidden and sad and painful and emotional this kiss made me. This kiss made me feel EVERYTHING.

” ‘Is this a joke to you, Emma? Don’t you understand?’ His voice dropped to a whisper. ‘I don’t live if you die!’

Her eyes searched his face. ‘Jules, I’m so sorry, Jules-‘ The wall that usually hid the truth deep in his eyes had crumbled; she could see the panic there, the desperation, the relief that had punched through his defenses. 

He was still holding on her wrist. She didn’t know if she leaned into him first or if he pulled her toward him. Maybe both. They crashed together like stars colliding, and then he was kissing her. Jules. Julian. Kissing her.”

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: Laia and Elias

20560137

Lots of lines are crossed in this kiss. Laia and Elias. Oh, how you have brought me pain. This kiss made me cheer but the whole scene made me want to cry at the same time. I love how these two characters can’t help but gravitate towards each others despite who they are and what they represent.

“I lift myself up on my toes, and his face comes down at the same time. His lips are soft, softer that I could have imagined, but there is a hard desperation behind them, a need. The kiss speaks. It begs. Let me forget, forget, forget. 

His cloak falls away from me, and my body against his. He pulls me to his chest, his hands running down my back, clasping my thigh, drawing me closer. I arc into him, reveling in his strength, his fire, the alchemy between us twisting and burning and melding until it feels like gold. 

Then he breaks away, his hands held out before him. ‘I’m so sorry,’ he says. ‘I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean to. I’m a Mask and you’re a slave, and I shouldn’t have-‘

‘It’s all right.’ My lips burn. ‘I’m the one who…started it.’ We stare at each other, and he looks so confused, so angry at himself that I smile, sadness and embarrassment and desire coursing through me.”

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: Tamlin and Feyre

16096824

Set in a world where magic is danger, and trust is shortcoming, this kiss made me grin so hard because it was so sexy and sweet at the same time. It contrasts to the darkness of the story and to the horrible events that follow after. Both of them came a long way from the beginning of the novel to this very scene. I personally admire the development this kiss shows.

” ‘I’m thinking I might kiss you.’ he said quietly, intently.

‘Then do it,’ I blushed at my own boldness. But Tamlin only gave that breathy laugh, and leaned in. His lips brushed mine-testing, soft and warm. He pulled back a little. He was still staring at me, and I stared right back as he kissed me again, harder, but nothing like the way he’d kissed my neck. He withdrew more fully this time and watched me.

‘That’s it?’ I demanded, and he laughed and kissed me fiercely.”

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: Khalid and Shazi

wrath and dawn

Loving this kiss from my new found (and favourite) duology. This retelling of A Thousand and One Nights was beautifully dark and romantic. Ahdieh sucked me in from the start and I’m seriously shipping these two. Their relationship is like no other I’ve read before. Strongly recommend this novel.

“‘What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?’ he whispered.

‘If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.’ The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest. 

‘No.’ His hands dropped to her waist. ‘Destroy me.’

The bow and arrow clattered to the ground as he brought his mouth to hers. And there was no turning back.”

I mean how amazing was that?! ^^


So that’s Part 2 of my Top 10 First Kiss Scenes! I’m sure there will be more in the future. Remember to check out Part 1! I linked it in the beginning and I’m too lazy to link it again. 😛

Are you with me for loving some of these first kiss scenes?! Comment so we can fangirl!! What books should I put on the next list?!? 😮 What is your ultimate favourite kiss scene??? 

Keep calm and read on,

smallerblogsign2

goodreads / twitter / tumblr / pinterest / instagram / bloglovin’

I have reviewed many of the novels mentioned in the list so check them all out below.

Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
November 9 by Colleen Hoover
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

 

8 thoughts on “Top 10 First Kiss Scenes in Books (Part 2)

  1. EEKS! I LOVED that first kiss between Ben & Parker in Blurred Lines by LL! Sigh, it was so beyond fabulous! And I can’t wait to read all of the other ones you have listed too! What a fun post! 🙂

    Like

    • Lauren Layne was an author what brought so many surprises!! I practically read the Sex, Love & Stiletto series in three days!! And Blurred Lines is a personal favourite. I loved writing this post!! So many swoons!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts with me!

