Monthly Wrap Up: July 2016

Monthly Wrap Up July 2016

July flew by way too fast. I’m so sad. I’M SO HAPPY I’M DONE MY PHYSICS SUMMER COURSE. But I didn’t have any time to sneak in reviews…so I guess I am sad. But you know what can make me feel better??? Ice Cream. (And books, but that’s a give-in.)

ICYMI: July was National Ice Cream Month. So, now that I’ve finished summer school, I think I deserve some ice cream, y’know?!

Not to mention this month was sizzling hot for me! *sips ice cold raspberry lemonade* But you know, I was trapped inside my room learning Physics…but hey! Air conditioning! 😛

Anyway, enough of my rambling! Let’s see what July looked like!


R&R

*as always, the links to my full reviews are in the title!*

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

4/5 stars: A darker retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. This world is complex and full of characters that express the different opinions in this society. The progress was very well done and the plot twists were out of this world. There is lots of fantasy in this novel and I really enjoyed reading this!

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

4.5/5 stars: AHH! This is a super duper memorable novel that blows me away!! You are promised with very significant character growth from Mallory and Rider who happen to be great characters, and a storyline that breaks hearts. The romance is swoonful (No, this word doesn’t exist because I made it up and yes, I’m going to use it anyway). Super impressed with this novel!

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Steifvater

5/5 stars: So I fell back in love with Maggie Steifvater with this novel! I had a difficult time getting into the novel because I didn’t like the female protagonist, Puck very much, but the male protagonist, Sean had me at page one. Overtime, I grew to really admire all the characters and this very creative new fantasy novel. The spin of water horses and the integration of fantasy was enchanting. Literally.

This Is Where The World Ends by Amy Zhang

3.5/5 stars: Okay… This was a very different experience for me. Told in a very mysterious manner by flipping POVs and a present/past timeline, the story follows Micah and Janie in the evident downfall of their friendship and how they see life. The characters didn’t really impress me, but the writing? The writing was damn impressive. It was so devastatingly real and the story covers many serious topics that are handle with care and expressed with severe honesty. I’m at ends with this novel.


I didn’t have too bad of a month! I actually read a lot of books inbetween summer school but I never had the chance to review them. You can add me on Goodreads if you want to keep up with what I’ve been reading! Because, trust me, I read more than I review. XD

Lists

I’m realizing that prompts help me brainstorm new ideas that I’m currently in process of writing. No prompts were done this month but I got some hauls, tags and awards in!! Don’t miss out on the buttload of recommendations too!!

Library Haul #1 | Rereads, rereads and second chances
Blogger Recognition Award
Books with a Purpose Tag + Recommendations!!

We had a highly anticipated release this month; Torn by Jennifer L. Armentrout! For those who haven’t read it yet, I wrote a Recap of Book 1 for you!

Recap: Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

CurrentRead

it ends with us

6

Updates

  • Finished Physics and I’m going to keep on talking about it because that was tough. And it’s mostly the reason for my lack of commenting!! Juggling blogging and life is hard.
  • I finally FINALLY finished my Rating System so check that out!
  • I bought so many books this month! 😮 I went to Chapters twice! So, you have some Chapters Haul in the near future!! I seriously can’t wait to share what I bought with you!!
  • Update on my dive in digital designing: I’m loving it! I’ve figured how to use Inkscape for what I need and I can’t wait to see what my creative juices are going to create!

7

Hey, hey, hey!! First, things first, isn’t that the cutest?!? ^^ The coffee and cookie are making me HUNGRY.

So, how was your July?? Meet any new book boyfriends???
I DID! *cough* Rider *cough* Sean *cough*

How often do you Google book recaps and summary for upcoming novels?!? Do you think recaps are helpful or would you rather read the book yourself?

I’m a huge ice cream fan. ICE SANDWICHES ARE THE BOMB. I love them. I also love sorbet. Sorbet is my healthy alternative. 😉
What kind of ice cream do you like? Hate with a passion? 

I hope you are having a fabulous summer and that July did you well!! Here’s to a promising August!! *clinks raspberry lemonade*

Keep calm and just keep reading,

smallerblogsign2

goodreads / twitter / tumblr / pinterest / instagram / bloglovin’

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: July 2016

  1. Congrats on finishing Physics! I bet that was extremely tough. I hate Physics with a passion and my only experience with it, from high school, was terrible. 😫

    Also, I’m completely jealous that you’re reading It Ends With Us right now. I’m still waiting! 😭

    Great wrap up! I hope your August is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! It really was, and Physics definitely doesn’t have any good memories attached to it. It’s terrible. It Ends With Us is an amazing novel!! When are you getting the book?? I can’t wait for you to read it! Ah. So many feels.YOU. WILL. CRY.

      Liked by 1 person

      • For me either. I’m trying everything I can to avoid ever having to take Physics again.

        I actually got it in the mail this morning but I haven’t started it yet because I’m scared too 😂. All I’ve heard is how I’ll cry and I’m like oh no lol. I’ll probably start it tonight though! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • *fangirls* I CAN’T WAIT TO READ YOUR REVIEW!! I’m extremely book hungover, it’s crazy. I haven’t been able to pick up another book in days.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m scared it’s going to put me back into book hangover mode and I’ve only just come out of the ACOMAF induced one. I’m only on chapter nine but so far I love it! Though a few things have been throwing me off. I’m still in the beginning though so. 🙂

        Like

Share your thoughts with me!

