Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

it ends with usIt Ends With Us
By Colleen Hoover

Paperback, 384 pages
Published August 2nd 2016 by Atria Books
Average Rating: 4.75

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
POV: First Person Limited (Lily)
Cover Love: Symbolic and loved by everyone. The recreations on Colleen’s Instagram speak for themselves.
My Rating: 5/5


Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.


five star

All those times I said that a book changed my life, I had no idea that it wouldn’t compare to the time I would read It Ends with Us . This is what it feels like to actually read a novel that will forever change my life. I can’t describe the feeling this beautiful story has evoked in me. I was sobbing the whole way through. Once the casserole scene happened, I was a blubbering mess. I practically broke down because I was so overwhelmed by the pain, sadness and joy I was feeling. I was TORN. Because not only was I feeling the emotions of the characters all at once, magnified tenfold, but I was imagining myself in their shoes and realizing how fast fifteen seconds, five minutes, and fifteen minutes can change someone’s life and how sometimes, you can never really understand what it’s like to even be in someone else’s shoes.

There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.

Love is messy and It Ends with Us showed us exactly that. Things aren’t always black and white, and this novel showed the extent of that in such a raw, powerful way, that I’m utterly speechless. The characters, the writing and the story are impeccably human. The vulnerability I felt was insane. The impact of the story was huge. 

I could feel pieces of Colleen’s soul scattered in the novel and I’m so SO proud of her. This is why I love her and her writing so much. This is why everyone should experience her genius. Her magic. Her ability to evoke these emotions that I can’t fully comprehend.

I can’t find the words to explain how beautiful this novel is and to describe its perfection. This novel just is. So, I’m keeping this review short and sweet. The less you know, the better.

I hope you defy the odds of most dreams and actually accomplish yours.

You will connect with the story. You will connect with the characters. You will connect with yourself. You will connect with Colleen. You will connect with reality and you will connect with naked truths. You will feel the sacrifice of love. You will be breathless. You will cry. And you will absolutely adore this novel.

I’ll keep pretending to swim, when really all I’m doing is floating. Barely keeping my head above water.

It Ends with Us is the 2016 novel that I won’t be forgetting anytime soon. It’s raw beauty and powerful story will touch every soul that reads it. Everyone needs to go read this. Go read this.

This is by far the best CoHo novel and has rightfully become my favourite novel of hers.

Colleen, thank you for writing It Ends with Us and for sharing a story more people than we know can relate to. I am deeply honoured to be able to read this.

smallerblogsign2

 

7 thoughts on “Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. […] I didn’t know the definition of ugly cry until I read It Ends with Us. Oh my lord, I heaved, I sobbed, I assumed fetal position right after. CoHo is a literary spellcaster. She had me right in the palm of her hands, Lily had me by my heart and Ryle had me by my tearducts. This was emotionally taxing. So much praise for this novel. You only come across that kind of hangover a few times in your life, and for me, this was one of those times. [Review] […]

    Like

Share your thoughts with me!

