Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

25486998P.S. I Like You
By Kasie West

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published July 26th 2016 by Point
Average Rating: 4.09

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, Romance
POV: First Person Limited (Lily)
Cover Love: It’s silly which I like but compared to West’s other books I’m not overly fond of this book cover.
My Rating: 5/5 stars


Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds thatsomeone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mysteryand juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…


five star

OOOHH MYYY GOOOD!! I’m jumping around like a little girl because this book is so cute, and happy and it makes me feels so good!!

I needed this book. So. Freaking. Much. I’m in such a good mood now!! This is actually the first book I’ve completely read since It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover, and something lighthearted was perfect for me to get out of my “life sucks” phase.

[The rabbit] stood on its hind legs and sniffed the air.

“Yes, you smell that,” I told the rabbit. “That’s the smell of your enemy. Get a good whiff. We are not friends.”

First, things first. Lily could seriously be my BFF. She reminds of my actual best friend IRL and the friendship she has with Isabel mirrors the friendship I have with her. I love all of Lily’s quirks! She’s sarcastic and has the same humour as me; her introvertedness (Yes, that isn’t word, I know, but I’m still going to use it) was expressed so well and her development was superb. Her journey from not being able to share her songs to the end where she enters herself in a song writing contest is something I can relate to. I loved her quips!! They were wicked fast and just hilarious. I laughed out loud multiple times and that’s hard to do when I read! Crying is nothing, laughing on the other hand?? Takes incredible skill.

I really don’t want to go into detail about Lilly’s love interest because it’s actually an important part of the novel. Once I say his name, all will be ruined for you because that was what happened to me. So [insert name here when you finish the book] is heaven created. I absolutely LOVED him!!! He’s sweet, and his relationship with Lilly is so unexpected. She really misunderstood him, but all is good by the very end. I was swooning like crazy and I’m absolutely in love with him. He was kind and charming as hell. I WANT HIS SMIRK TO BE FOR MEEE!! He’s just GOAALS. He’s all things holy and perfect and beautiful and flawed. *squee* He’s another BBF expertly written by Kasie West. ❤

I didn’t let me arms go around him like they wanted to. I didn’t let the rest of my body melt into him or even my cheek find its way against his soft cotton shirt.

I love it when secondary characters make their mark in stories. One thing you can always expect from Kasie West is her impeccable ability to create characters with different backgrounds and life stories that ultimately make the story unique. Secondary characters are truly underestimated and I love it when an author gives readers a wonderful, lovable secondary character. This book gets a billion stars just for its incredible characters.

P.S. I Like You had this wonderful secondary character. Isabel!! Isabel is freaking awesome. She’s a great friend to Lilly and again because I saw myself and my best friend in these two, I loved their dynamic since the very beginning. (I finished the book, and immediately texted her to go read it!) Isabel is supportive and understanding. There was a point where I was worried I would get that dreaded cliché of fighting with your best friend, but it wasn’t exactly the direction I thought it was going to, which was very nice.

One of the biggest things that stood out for me was the friendship and family elements strung throughout. Lily’s family is full of life and crazy, fun traditions. The love and togetherness bled through the pages. Not only, the friendship between Isabel and Lily, again, was supportive and caring. These girls are truly friendship goals and I hope everyone has an Isabel or a Lily in their life.

The romance had love triangle potential which made me super nervous. That would truly be the smudge of dirt on perfectly white shoes. The thing is, is that because of the whole anonymous pen pal situation, Lily and [insert his beautiful face] explored with other people. It made things really predictable which was fine yet irritating at the same time because this book is definitely a trope of [SPOILER] love/hate relationships and I’m a sucker for love/hate relationships.

Plot moved rather slowly in my opinion. The only reason why I was okay with it is because it was still interesting yet extremely predictable. The letters between Lilly and her pen pal were probably my favourite part which is ironic cause it was what made the book slow in the first place. In the beginning, I thought they were going to be boring and I was preparing myself to skim, but no! I read each and every word enthusiastically! I think the main reason why I thought it was slow was because I was waiting and waiting for the characters to figure out who they were writing too. I was just waiting for Lily to find out!! Ugh, it was frustrating, so it makes sense that the author lost me around the middle. It was nail-biting hard not to skim so I could get to the reveal faster. Alas, it was worth the wait!!

And then I mouthed, “I think I love you too.”

The ending (the reveal) was so freaking cute!! Ah, so good. I was so happy!! Reading this sweet and happy novel after a heavy, emotional one was the perfect medicine for my book hangover. The built-up was delicious and heavy with angst making the HEA the best thing that could ever happen to me and the characters.

P.S. I Like You brought all the good feels. This is a fun, entertaining, romantic read. You will get through this book very quickly. I absolutely adored this novel. Kasie West does it again with another phenomenal YA Contemporary Romance novel. I’m looking forward to more stories from her!!

smallerblogsign2

goodreads / twitter / tumblr / pinterest / instagram / bloglovin’

 

5 thoughts on “Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Share your thoughts with me!

