Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016

So, I seen this or something similar to this on some book blogger websites that I follow (Page Chronicles, Starcrossed Book Blog and lots more!) and I think it’s a great idea, so I’m going to give it a try! (I think it’s also a meme from bookidote…) So thanks to all the book blogs I follow because you are all my inspiration! (And I just love all their content 🙂 so check them out!)

R&R

*Full reviews are linked in the book titles, check ’em out!*

Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios

4.5/5 stars: I found a YA series about jinn and absolutely fell in love with the world and characters. Definitely fast-paced and Nalia is a strong heroine who cannot help but itch to be free of her master. This is her story on what it feels to be trapped and ultimately be worth more than her super powerful magic. Oh, and the romance is very well done too.

The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen #2) by Jodi Meadows

5/5 stars: EPIC CONCLUSION TO THE ORPHAN QUEEN DUOLOGY!!!! *squeal* SO DANG GOOD. I cried, I laughed, and I mourned. I got everything I wanted out of this novel and am 100% satisfied with the ending, along with the way the characters developed.

Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow

DNF: Zombies are cool…but this book makes me want to spend some quality time with Voldemort. My experience with this book isn’t the best and I learned a valuable lesson that if your fav author loves it, doesn’t mean that you will. IE. Be careful with how high expectations go when it comes to anticipating reads.

The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass

4/5 stars: A hopeful start to Kiera Cass’ new Selection novels. America and Maxon’s eldest daughter, Eadlyn gets her own Selection. She’s a priss in the beginning, but we get some promising character development. Selected Men are always a fun to get to know. I was happy with it. Not overly impressed but not highly disappointed either.

The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh

5/5 stars: My new love. This novel has the best storytelling, and it’s so beautifully written. I can’t get over Khalid and Shazi. This novel reignited my love for retellings and it’s just so awesome. #gushinglikecrazy I did have some problems with some POVs but this novel blew me away. An absolute stunning series.

The Crown (The Selection #5) by Kiera Cass

2.5/5 stars: I. AM. SO. SAD. THIS BOOK IS MAD DISAPPOINTMENT. To have the series go from a 4-5 star rating to a 2?! Let me tell you, it’s not without reason. It was choppy, and too sudden. There wasn’t enough plot building and didn’t end in a way that I would have expected. I’m very proud of Eadlyn though, so that’s a plus.

Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3) by Robin LaFevers

5/5 stars: Unexpected 5 stars for me here. I really didn’t think I was going to love this conclusion as much. I pretty much had to force myself to keep reading for half of the novel, but once the action started it really didn’t stop until the very end. I just love the darkness and fantastical atmosphere.

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

5/5 stars: Lots of fangirl feels. I changed teams in a span of a chapter or two maybe less. SJM brings it again with a fantastic novel with epic worldbuilding, an angsty romance, and solid character development. What can you expect other than 5 stars for SJM?


I gave pretty high ratings this month. I had a decent month for reviews; there are lots of them anyway! May was a huge month for book releases. These reviews are a combination of old ones to new ones. I found new loves, but was highly disappointed in The Crown.

Tattoo Thursday

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lists

Book-Themed Writing Prompts are a new feature here at ATP (Addictively Turning Pages for the confused). I have a new appreciation for The Daily Post Prompts. I put this under the category “Fun Stuff” for now because they are kinda miscellaneous posts. I love these posts because they’re created on the whim and it’s a great challenge to create a book-themed post related to the word of the day. I don’t always have time for these, but it’s great way to keep writing and to keep creative.

Underestimating The Power of Book Covers
An Open Letter to My Reading Addiction

Book Inspired Poetry: Brick by Brick (TW&TD)

I also wrote a Top 10 post about first kiss scenes!

Top 10 First Kiss Scenes in Books

CurrentRead

26198812

Updates

  • IB exams were this month so I was crazy busy during the pre-exam period. And after I had to catch up on my other assignments for my ongoing semester.
  • I GOT MY BRACES OFF THIS MONTH!!! CRAZY!! It was a two and half year treatment and I’m loving my new smile. 🙂
  • One of the assignments I mentioned above was creating a Physics Machine or a Rube Goldberg as it’s commonly known in the science world. I created it with Emilie and it was book themed guys!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wI_lEZb7QH0 Check it out!!
  • I expanded my social media platform so please follow me on those!
  • goodreads / twitter / tumblr / pinterest / instagram / bloglovin’
  • Oh, and I got nominated by Shayla for the One Lovely Blog Award so stay tuned for that post.

How was your May? What books did you read? What are you currently reading? How’s life? Let me know!!

smallerblogsign2

5 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016

  1. YAY for the Orphan Queen having an epic conclusion. That’s what I was hoping to hear and now I can’t wait to read that duology! 🙂 It looks like you had a fabulous May, hope June is just as great!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts with me!